DEMCO Scholarship Program Marks 28th year

Tue, 05/25/2021

$71,737 in scholarship funds awarded to DEMCO member-students

Greenwell Springs, LA – At the 2021 annual meeting on Saturday, May 15, DEMCO marked twenty-eight years of their scholarship program with twenty-eight scholarship awards of $2,500 to DEMCO-member eligible. DEMCO received 226 applications for this year’s random drawing from members in its seven-parish service area: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, and West Feliciana.

Since the program’s inception the DEMCO scholarship program has provided scholarships to three-hundred thirty-nine DEMCO member students, a total investment of $848,153. Winners are selected by a randomized drawing at the DEMCO Annual Meeting held each year in May.

“DEMCO is pleased to offer academic scholarships to our co-op member-students because we know that whenever we invest in our youth, we invest in the future of our community,” says Randy Pierce, DEMCO CEO and General Manager.

DEMCO Scholarship Recipients for the 2021/2022 academic year are listed below.

Attending Baton Rouge Community College: Joshua Taylor; Grambling State University: Burnell Williams; Louisiana State University: Connor James, Davis Bourgeois, Kaelyn Labatut, Rachel Cretini, Darren Hill, Jr., Joshua Verret, Carly Drennan, Natalie Lazaroe, and Kaydin Morgan; Louisiana Tech: Mikaela Payne, and Jadon Shirley; Nicholls State University: Justin Browning; Northshore Technical College, Karlie Varnado; Southeastern Louisiana University: John Stinson, Logan Fos-Brown, Katherine Buford, Audrey Murtes, Ryan Harrison, Kaely Scarle, Maci Scivicque, Gabrielle McMasters, Amelia Dupre, and Ashanna Lee; Southern University: Ki’Aunysti Brown and Laini Gilmore; and University of Louisiana at Monroe, Sydnee Coates.

“The DEMCO Scholarship program is one of the many benefits of DEMCO co-op membership and one of the ways we show our commitment to community,” says Pierce.

DEMCO scholarship funds are not taken from normal operating funds. Through legislative changes made in 1993, unclaimed checks are allowed to remain in a general scholarship fund to assist co-op member-students within the DEMCO service area rather than forwarding the monies to the state’s general treasury fund.

Established in 1938, DEMCO is the largest electric cooperative in Louisiana with 113,500+ meters and 8,887 miles of line that provide energy to about half a million people in seven southeast Louisiana parishes: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, and West Feliciana.