In 1938 DEMCO membership corporation was established by 750 people who banded together to bring electricity to rural areas of East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, and Livingston parishes.

Now one of the largest electric co-ops in the nation, DEMCO powers 113,500+ meters in seven parishes: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, and West Feliciana.

Local service and attention to the needs of our members is in large part what makes our co-op successful. The decisions about your co-op are guided by a member-elected local board of directors, who represent all members in our seven-parish service area.